Free Trade Agreements

Free Trade Agreements (FTAs) are an important aspect of the Government’s integrated trade, industry and productivity strategies.  Australia participates in FTAs which enhance multilateral and regional trade outcomes and foster Australia’s international competitiveness by providing new market opportunities, increasing investment and export performance. The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) has overarching policy responsibility for the negotiation of FTAs, but as part of a whole-of-government approach, the Department of Industry plays a key role in the negotiation and ongoing administration of FTAs, providing advice on issues as varied as tariffs, rules of origin, services, investment, trade remedies and technical and product standards.

Australia is currently pursuing a range of FTA negotiations with key trading partners including China, the members of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC), India, Indonesia, Japan, Pacific Island Forum countries (PACER Plus) and participants in the Trans Pacific Partnership (TPP) Agreement. Further information on the progress of these agreements can be found on the DFAT website.

Australia has existing FTAs with the United States, Thailand, New Zealand, Singapore, Malaysia, Chile and the parties to the ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand FTA. Australia concluded negotiations  for the FTA with Korea in early December 2013. 

Further information on Australia’s completed FTAs can be found on the DFAT or Austrade websites.

Contact: Karl Brennan
Manager, Trade Policy 
Business Competitiveness & Trade Division
Department of Industry

Share this Page