Portfolio Research Agencies

On 18 September 2013, the Department of Industry portfolio was established. Content on this site may not be current and will be updated to reflect Machinery of Government changes in due course.

The Science and Infrastructure Division is responsible for the Department's relationship with the portfolio research agencies - the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO), the Australian Institute of Marine Science (AIMS), the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO) and the Australian Institute for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS).

In 2008, Former Minister Carr signed a charter with each of the agencies. The charters articulate a commitment from Government concerning research independence. They also outline the freedoms and responsibilities of each research agency, and the rights and obligations of researchers within the agencies in sharing knowledge and participating in public debate.

To find out more about the work of our research agencies view the charters below.

Review of the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS)

In 2013, an independent review of AIATSIS is being undertaken. For more information go to the AIATSIS review page.

Share this Page